How to stay productive as a Developer

Photo by Austin Chan on Unsplash

How to stay productive as a Developer

As a student or a working developer, it can be incredibly difficult to remain productive.

We often find ourselves overwhelmed with the number of tasks to complete, and it can be hard to stay focused and on track.

That’s why it’s important to know how to effectively manage your time and remain productive.

In this article, I’ll share some tips and tools that have helped me stay productive when I’m feeling overwhelmed.

Making good use of Todo Lists

To-Do-List Tasks GIF by Drawify

If we are talking about productivity then I can never leave Todo Lists behind. I started the habit of writing the tasks down and then going through them one by one, a few years ago and haven't looked back after that.

A to-do list allows you to organize your tasks and help you stay on track. You can also prioritize tasks and focus on the most important ones first.

When creating a to-do list, it’s important to be realistic and break down larger tasks into smaller ones.

Writing down each step of a task will make it easier to tackle. You should also make sure to prioritize tasks, so you’re not wasting time on something that isn’t important.

You can write down the tasks the night before so that you no longer have to spend time in the morning on this.

Leveraging the power of DEADLINES

The Good Doctor Reaction GIF by ABC Network

You must have noticed that if you give yourself one day to complete a simple task, it will take one whole day.

But if you decide to complete the same task in 2 hours then it gets completed within those 2 hours. Seems like a miracle. Right?

No, it isn't. This is the power of deadlines.

If you find yourself struggling with a task, try breaking it into smaller chunks and setting deadlines for each step.

Setting realistic deadlines for yourself will help you stay motivated and on track.

You should also make sure that your deadlines are achievable, so you don’t feel overwhelmed or discouraged. This will help to keep you motivated and on track.

Stop Multitasking

Multitasking Working GIF by Beer in a Box

Last month I was working on a project and I had various tabs opened just before it, I was also working on a blog. While working on the app I accidentally opened the draft of the article and noticed that some improvements can be made to it. So I switched to working on the blog.

Like me, you must have found yourself jumping from one task to another.

The first step is to accept the fact that you are multitasking because many times we don't even know that we are doing it as it comes subconsciously.

Multitasking is something that many of us do naturally, but it can actually be detrimental to our productivity.

Trying to do several things at once can lead to mistakes, burnout, and fatigue.

Instead, focus on one task at a time and don’t move onto the next one until the current task is completed.

This will help you stay focused and get more done in less time.

Take Regular Breaks

Taking regular breaks is important for staying productive.

Taking breaks helps refresh your mind and re-energizes you so that you can continue working at your best.

Breaks don’t have to be long- they can even be as short as five minutes.

Going for a quick walk, listening to music, spending time with family and friends, or even just standing up and stretching for a few minutes can help you recharge and get back to work feeling refreshed.

Do the Hardest Things First when you feel most productive

This particular tip works best for me. After experimenting a lot I have found out that mornings work best for me.

Doing the most important tasks first thing in the morning sets a correct tone for the day and also gives you a sense of achievement which further pushes me to work above and beyond.

This tip will ensure that tasks are done quickly and will make completing the other tasks much easier.

It also helps avoid procrastination, as it can be difficult to motivate yourself to start on difficult tasks if they are left until the end of the day.

Developer tools that help me get **it done

Do It Mug GIF by Symphonic Distribution

We all know that Technology can be good as well as bad for us and it all depends on how we use it.

There exist a lot of apps and tools that distract us from being productive. At the same time, we have some productive tools that come to the rescue.

Some tools and apps I use are:

  1. Taskboard to write down all my tasks in one single place

  2. I turn on DND Mode on my devices while working to cut off the unnecessary distractions

  3. To stay focused I listen to white and brown noise and use Focusly for it

  4. Making myself use the keyboard more than the mouse has made a small but key impact on my developer life as I don't have to click through multiple menus or search for commands manually.

    On top of it if you get used to shortcuts then it becomes the cherry on the cake.

  5. I also keep all the social media apps on the last page of my phone so that it creates friction for me to go and access them

  6. Keeping a notebook beside me is also helpful for staying productive. Writing down random ideas that come to mind helps keep me focused on the task at hand, as I don’t have to worry about forgetting them later on.

    It also helps me break down tasks into smaller chunks, as I can jot down small notes or reminders of what needs to be done next.

Conclusion

In the end, I would like to say that productivity is not about doing more work but also about doing work in an efficient way so that you get to spend time on various other domains of your life and remain happy while doing so.

Text gif. Hearts and stars dance around chalk-like text on a blue background. Text, "You got this."

Did you find this article valuable?

Support Utkarsh Nagar by becoming a sponsor. Any amount is appreciated!